Happy New Year – IWSG January

Firstly, thank you to every one who left comments on my last post on owning it.  Over the holiday period I’ve been trying on the ‘I’m a writer’ thing on for size and it’s been great.

Welcome to Insecure Writer’s Support Group post for January (hosted by Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh) .

IWSG badge

I don’t normally go in for New Year’s Resolutions because I always try and do too much. I’ll aim to drop a dress size, join the gym, be more patient, be more proactive, learn Chinese, and by January the 10th I’m normally over it again.

This year I’ve managed to narrow it down to just one thing.

Nobody’s opinion is more important than mine.

Do any of these things sound familiar?

  • Writing isn’t a viable career;
  • No one cares that I write except me;
  • I don’t have enough time;
  • I don’t have enough support;
  • I feel guilty about writing because I should be walking the dog/making dinner/doing the washing up.

Ok, so the washing up does need to be done eventually, but none of those things are true unless I let them be.

They are my own fears, but it’s hard to let go of them when I feel they are reinforced by everything I see around me.

I am so over it already.

I love to write. It’s a fundamental part of who I am, and none of the stuff above matters as long as I’m writing.

Of course making that decision is one thing. How to keep it going for a whole 365 days and beyond is another matter.

I have my self help CDs in the car, I’ve got a writing course lined up for March (plus a back up plan if I don’t make the grade) and I’m currently playing hot potato with my short stories

My writing group is knocking me into shape too.

Any other advice would be welcome. Despite all of the above it’s hard not to shrink into myself sometimes.  Any advice from you would be really welcome.

Wishing you all a  great 2016.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Happy New Year – IWSG January

  1. I identify with your sense of guilt and determination. I live on LA VITA, our sailboat in Mexico. She is a demanding lady. My solution is to get up at 4am and write. That gives me two precious hours of alone time without guilt. Have you carved a time that works for you?

    You’re on the road to success and a balance that works for you. Remember, the best is yet to come.

    • I love that. Thank you. I’m currently getting up at 6, which gives me an hour to write before I need to leave for work. I’m slowly trying to train my body to get up at 5 to give me longer. So far it’s having none of it, but I’m going to keep trying.

    • I get that! I write pretty fast, but I’m a stickler for revisions. I still believe that I can write a perfect book that will make everybody happy. Never going to happen 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Ah the laundry, the dishes, cooking dinner, school work, etc. I understand it all. If I could just win the lotto or get a huge book deal, I’d hire someone to deal with all that, so I can write in guilt-free peace. Reality is those things require my attention, so the only thing that can be done is to find the right balance. But, I’ve taken up carrying a mini notebook with me everywhere. So while doing something mundane, when a spark of inspiration so massive hits, I’m always ready to capture it.

  3. I certainly feel your struggles. It seems all of us writers have our demons who often speak louder than the confident person we (well, at least I) like to pretend we are. There is no shortage of advice out there, or people who are sure they have it (whatever IT is) all figured out. Some of that advice will work for you, but most of it won’t. I wanted to write the perfect book, which found me unable to write more than a paragraph before getting exhausted. Every sentence had to be reworked before going on to the next. That is stagnation, not writing (again, for me). I had to re-evaluate my process. I stopped writing for readers I didn’t have, convinced myself that perfection was for later, not the draft, and I trusted my ideas were good ones. That worked for me. It might work for you.

Leave a Reply

